Can CAD/CAM composite replace ceramics in dental restorations?
LIVE WEBINAR
19 Sep 2024 Online Event | 19:00 GST (UAE) | 18:00 KSA | 17:00 CEST Area of interest: General Dentistry, Restorative Dentistry

REGISTRATION

Register to watch the webinar

Abstract

Biomechanical considerations for significantly compromised teeth present a substantial challenge to clinicians. CAD/CAM ceramic restorations are a viable option for restoring teeth when esthetics are crucial, and the cavity preparation exceeds the conventional indications for direct resin composites. Ceramic restorations offer superior esthetics and wear resistance, making them a reliable treatment choice. However, despite these advantages, ceramic restorations are rigid, difficult to repair intraorally, and may cause significant wear on opposing natural teeth. In addition to CAD/CAM ceramics, other materials such as CAD/CAM resin composite and hybrid ceramic exist. The simplicity of bonding, intraoral repair, and resiliency of these CAD/CAM materials often surpass traditional ceramic restorations. It is also crucial to understand how to cement the indirect composite restoration, and how to optimize the cavity.

Learning Objectives

  • Explore the properties and advantages of CAD/CAM composite materials, including their biocompatibility, durability and ease of repair.
  • Understand the clinical applications of CAD/CAM composite restorations, including inlays, onlays and crowns.
  • Evaluate the comparative benefits of CAD/CAM composites over ceramics.
  • Describe techniques for cavity optimization, such as gingival marginal elevation and immediate dentine sealing, prior to digital impression taking. 
  • Explain the procedures for surface treatment, intraoral repair and materials for cementation of CAD/CAM composite restorations.

Supported by