Watch out, bugs about! Can you successfully manage orofacial infection?
LIVE WEBINAR
25 Apr 2024 Online Event | 22:00 GST (UAE) | 21:00 KSA | 20:00 CEST | 19:00 BST Area of interest: General Dentistry, Oral Hygiene

FREE REGISTRATION

Register to watch the webinar

Abstract

Certain bacterial members of the complex oral microbiome are generally recognised to be associated with dental conditions, such as dental caries, periodontal disease, and acute suppurative infection. However, other micro-organisms can cause a range of significant orofacial infections. This presentation will describe the clinical manifestations, diagnosis, and management of a range of candidal, viral, and bacterial conditions that may affect the soft tissues of the head and neck. Oral candidosis is historically known as the “disease of the diseased” and can present in four different clinical forms. Identification and elimination of the various factors that predispose to candida proliferation, along with appropriate use of antifungal agents, is key in the successful management. Primary infection with members of the herpes virus group in early life is usually associated with mild self-limiting symptoms. Unfortunately, reactivation of latent virus within the oral tissues is associated with episodes of distressing symptoms. Used correctly, antiviral agents can prevent or minimize the impact of these recurrent infections. More recently, the incidence of specific bacterial infections, such as tuberculosis and syphilis, has risen, and recognition of their presence in the mouth has become increasingly important. A contemporary awareness of the spectrum and nature of orofacial infection is crucial to optimal patient care.  

Learning Objectives

  • To be aware of the signs, symptoms and treatment of different forms of oral candidosis.
  • To have an improved understanding of the manifestations and management of the reactivation latent viruses in the tissues of the head and neck.
  • To be able to recognise the clinical presentation of the specific bacterial mucosal infection within the mouth.
  • To have a contemporary knowledge of the use of the antimicrobial agents available to treat orofacial infections.  
  • To improve the microbial component of holistic dental care.  

Moderation by Dr. Stephen Hancocks


Powered by