Unplanned tooth movements in aligner therapy
LIVE WEBINAR
28 Sep 2022 Online Event | 20:00 GST (UAE) | 19:00 KSA | 18:00 CET Area of interest: General Dentistry, Orthodontics

REGISTER FREE HERE FOR THE WEBINAR |  1 CE Credit Available

Abstract

A common assumption in aligner therapy is that teeth that are passive in the treatment setup will not receive orthodontic forces from the aligners and should not move. While this assumption is very reasonable, clinical reports of unplanned tooth movements are beginning to appear in the literature. In other words, teeth that are not planned to move are found to have shifted. Subsequently, several research groups have provided in vitro evidence to support and explain this unusual phenomenon. This evidence-based lecture will focus on the topic of unplanned tooth movements and present recommended solutions to mitigate this complication of aligner therapy. At the conclusion of this presentation, participants will have a better understanding of the phenomenon and be aware of strategies to avoid or minimize it. 

Learning Objectives

  • Be aware of unplanned tooth movements in aligner therapy
  • Understand possible reasons why unplanned movements may occur
  • Know clinical signs of unplanned tooth movement
  • Understand how aligner design can impact these unplanned movements
  • Know strategies to avoid or minimize unplanned tooth movements